LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

16 bit receive over rs 232

Hello All,

I am a beginner in Labview and need some assistance on the below:

I want to create an interactive console application with Labview to communicate over RS 232. The GUI should allow me to

1. Send some specific commands over RS 232. (This I guess I will be able to do if I get a base application).

2. Receive 16 bit data over RS 232 and log it to a file. (This I guess will be tricky as RS 232 is 8 bit communication standard and the application like windows Hyperterminal will interpret 16 bit data as 2 8 bit ascii characters, which I dont want)

Let me know any thoughts on how to go ahead.,

Thanks so much,

Nagaraj Hegde

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 31
(3,552 Views)

go to the help in the toolbar, select Search For Labview Help. Then do a search for Unflatten From String Function. Look at the examples for this function. Remember to set the correct endian format (Google endian if you do not know what it is).

Post again if you need more help. In Labview you can do this in many ways. Some prefer to just use the type cast function.

Besides which, my opinion is that Express VIs Carthage must be destroyed deleted
(Sorry no Labview "brag list" so far)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 31
(3,542 Views)

Hello Coq,

Thanks for your reply.,

I got this example Basic Serial Write and Read.vi in the example finder but when I tried executing, I got the error message as attached. Can you kindly help me out by guiding me how to resolve that. Where can I get the VISA? I am evaluating Labview and don't have any other drivers with me,.

Thanks again,

-Nagaraj Hegde

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 31
(3,525 Views)

My guess is that you do not have any VISA driver installed. You will find the VISA driver here for for download http://sine.ni.com/psp/app/doc/p/id/psp-411

Besides which, my opinion is that Express VIs Carthage must be destroyed deleted
(Sorry no Labview "brag list" so far)
0 Kudos