Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rs-232 digital potentiometer using SPI and USB-6008

Hi All, 

Although I have a little bit of experience with labview I am fairly new to serial communication. I want to use my serial port and if needed a USB 6008 to control a digital potentiometer MCP4161. Unfortunately I don't have the budget to invest in other acquisition hardware so might have to work with what I have. 

I see that it needs 3 inputs in order to change the resistance: 

1) Clock in

2) Data read enable

3) The bits that correspond to wiper position (resistance). 

I understand I can't get the clock output from the USB-6008? However is it possible to get this from the serial port? I could use a digital line on the USB-6008 as the read enable. The bits from the wiper position come from the serial port? (Does anyone have any suitable examples on this? I presume it would use VISA?)

Thanks in advance for your help. I think with a kick start I should be able to come up with a solution

Cheers, 

Darren 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(5,453 Views)

you can generate a clock with the 6008 by using an extra pin and change the output on that pin twice as fast as on the communication pins.

In fact software timing but SPI is not very critical on clock timing

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(5,450 Views)

Thanks Albert for your prompt suggestion. 

Just to clarify. do you mean using two digital output lines? Could I just use one and send it high and low based on the frequency of my loop? (This is what you mean by software timing? ) Also with the output from the rs-232 port is there any examples you can point me to? 

Thanks, 

Darren

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(5,449 Views)