Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modbus for temperature controller

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear all,

I am new with Labview, hence, my apologies for any stupid questions. 

I have a temperature controoler Ascon KX03 that can communicate trhough a serial port with Modbus protocol (I attached the datasheet, in particular at pag. 9 there is an example of the commands to get some information). As first step I connected the controller using a SerialTec software that works fine, so I am able to establish a communication and get, as instance, the current temperature value. I attach the screenshot with the string that SerialTec is sending to receive the temperature value. I would like to read using Labview, but I am trying without success. I attach my simple IV that is not giving any results. Actually, I don't know how to send a string of command (byte and words) to the controller. Sorry if it is a stupid question: how can I send the string of command to the controller to receive and answer and record the answer, please?

Thank you for your help

SerialTEC.png

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(1,504 Views)

Hi

Which Modbus software are you using?

In fact you can such string also just using VISA with serial line communications.

greetings from the Netherlands
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(1,490 Views)

Hi Albert,

thank you very much for your quick answer. I see you are expert on this topic... I am using a software called SerialTEC 

ftp://atftp.ascontecnologic.com/Serialtec/ST_101.zip

that has a good user interface and, once I set the right boundrate, parity etc with the address of the controller (1) and the command for reading (200), it gives me the answer from the controller.

I don't know if I understood well your words: should I write a string of words and send to the controller to have an answer?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(1,482 Views)

Hi