From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logging Electrical Properties vs Temperature

Hello,

I am relatively new to labview. For background I have completed LabVIEW core 1 and parts of LabVIEW core 2 tutorials.

I have been developing code that allows me to log electrical properties (electrical impedance, capacitance, microwave resonant frequency etc) using various pieces of hardware (Keysight E4981, E4990A and Keysight network analysers) as a function of temperature. The thermocouple is NI hardware controlled using DAQmX VI's.

All of my code so far has basically logged the electrical properties across a user defined temperature range with a user controllable measurement interval. This has then plotted xy graphs of the data until the maximum temperature is reached or the user stops the measurement and the data is then exported into an excel spreadsheet. These are simple programs but sufficient for what we require. My next challenge is to record the electrical properties as a function of temperature as stated above but to also record the electrical properties at a single user-inputted reference temperature i.e. 20°C or 25°C +/- 0.5°C. One solution would be to measure much more frequently to ensure I capture data at this point but it then means I will be generating far more data than is required especially as my measurements tend to run over a few hours. 

What would be the best way to achieve the above requirement? Preferably using structure or boolean controls as I understand these better than labview architectures I am not or may not be familiar with.

KR,

JBCTUK

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(820 Views)