Digital I/O

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Digital I/O Handshaking with DAQmx using VB.NET

I am new to both Visual Basic and using the DAQmx driver. I want to output a vector N times and input the results to test against expected values at as high a rate as possible. I think I want to load my initial vector into the onboard memory once and then just reread it using a handshaking protocol with one port as an output and one as an input.

It seems like this example: http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niepd_web_display.display_epd4?p_guid=B45EACE3EDC356A4E034080020E74861 would get me started, but it is geared towards VB6.0 and uses Traditional DAQ (Legacy). Can anybody pass on a suggestion or point me to a more up to date example? Any help would be appreciated. I am trying to get up and running on this. Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,584 Views)
Hi Max,

You should be able to find a lot of DAQmx Digital I/O examples in the following path:
C:\Program Files\National Instruments\NI-DAQ\Examples\DAQmx ANSI C

Not too many of them are geared specifically for handshaking, but it should give you a good idea how it all works in DAQmx.  Then you can do all the specifics like make a finite output, read back near the max rate for your board, etc.

If you need any extra help, make sure to let us know what hardware you are using.

Regards,
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,571 Views)
I am using the PCI-6534 with VB.NET and attempting to utilize the DAQmx. I am new to all of the above. Do you know of any more direct examples or could you give me some guidelines for converting the code over? Thanks.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(3,554 Views)

Max,