cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XNET Memory Design and Management

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I'm brand new to NI-XNET, using LabVIEW 2018 and an NI CAN peripheral.  I think my application requires the Frame Input Stream Mode because I need to analyze all frame traffic on the network, which does not conform to standard frame/signal definitions.  The XNET Read (Raw Frame) VI returns all frames in the Raw Frame format.  I think the application must poll XNET Read (Raw Frame).

How are frames buffered, and what properties can I use to monitor or configure the buffer?  For example, are frames buffered in HW, in the driver's space, in application space, in all?  Can I see or configure the size of these buffers?  What will happen if the buffer overflows?  I'm trying to design the polling period, which I think is a function of the frame rate and the buffer size.

I appreciate any feedback or help,

Steve K

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,335 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Pie566942.0

Frame Input Stream is really the easiest to understand.  You perform a read, and get all the frames that have arrived since the last read.  I'd never used the Raw Frame read for any project and don't see the usefulness of it.  I'd avoid it if I were you as I suspect it isn't what you want and you actually want to read the frames, or signals if you have a DBC.