LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

sync. method between two applications.

I am a novice in streaming of data. So I need to get your help.

I want to provide to other program a way of synchronization for other measurement at this time from my built application.

In my rough idea, just send a "fire" string "one time" during code execution through a protocol like radio antena.

Just send it but I have no time to check the delivery (precisely checking in other while loop "without interrupting the execution code")

1) shared variable: I found I need to complie two applications in the same time. It's not possible because my purpose is to provide some extension to other application.

2) network stream: I check the possibility as enclosed attachment.

but I found the delivery should be done because the source has not been executed in the next until received the fire signal in sink code.

Can you suggest simple method for this regard?

labmaster

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,365 Views)

I'm not sure I understand your issue with Shared Variables.  Of course you need to have both machines running at the same time, but that will be true whatever the method you are using (including Network Streams).

Synchronizing two machines is a pretty tricky process.  Probably the most reliable way would be for both machines to "subscribe" to a common time source, and to synchronize their internal clocks to that source.  I think NI has some Time Sync mechanisms available for its hardware products -- I've not looked into it closely.

If you want to synchronize the machines by using machine-to-machine communication, you need to consider the "unknown" variable of transmission time.  You can get an estimate of the "one-way" transmission time by measuring the "two-way" time.  I'd try the following:

Machine 1 transmits M1 clock to Machine 2.

On receipt, Machine 2 transmits M2 clock back to Machine 1.