LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

running average for 20 sec multiples

Hello, 

I am completely new to labview and have a data accqusition/running average question. 

Goal: Record data of every 50 transitions of a square pulse (Frequency 1Hz, 1 full cycle = 800ms), Have a running average of the data collected for over 20ms. 

My trigger is a square pulse, I am recording an analog signal and using the NI USB-6009 DAQ hardware. I want to average the data collected for alternating 50 transitions of the square pulse. That is, average 0-50, do not average data from 51-100, average data from the 101th transition to the 150th transition and so on.

Sampling rate = 2.5 hz. 

number of samples = n 

Once the average is obtained, I would like to plot the average after every 50th transitions and also store the averages in a spreadsheet. I have a rough idea of how to go about it, but need a proper direction. 

Please help. 

Thank You

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,017 Views)

Welcome to the Forums.

Some of your data is not clear. A frequency of 1 Hz means that a full cycle is 1000 ms, not 800. In the subject line you specify a running average oer 20 seconds but in the text you say 20 milliseconds. Since 20 ms is meaningless for a 1 Hz signal, I presume that is a typographical error.  50 transitions represents 25 seconds, which is inconsistent with your 20 second requirement.  The average for 50 transitions, do not average, average ... is not what is usually considered a running average.

With the sampling rate as slow as 2.5 Hz you may not get very good averaging. This shows the samples from a 1 Hz signal sampled at 2.5 Hz over a 10 second interval.

Samples.png

This shows the original signal plus the samples.

Signal plus samples.png

Note that in this data set some cycles of the 1 Hz signal get 2 samples during the high portion of the pulse and others get 1 while all the low portions get 1 sample. At other phases the ratios will change.