From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Viewing google earth maps in labview

Hello

I am currently doing a project where we I need to be able to control and view google earth from labview.

I have already seen and played with the "google earth - lv" - LLB file posted on the forum, which gives me the capacity to input GPS data etc to google earth; but I also need to be able to import the real-time image back from google earth - back to labview.

The image will form a "moving map" as part of an reconfigurable aircraft cockpit simulator I am creating.

Is this possible through Active X, embedded objects etc?

I am fairly new to labview and its full capabilities so any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Adam

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 29
(9,820 Views)

Hi Adam,

Just to let you know I am looking into this for you.  I think I am getting close but it is proving tricky.  There is a way to get the OLE reference for the window and then embed it into programs.  I have found an example to do this in C# and trying to convert this to LabVIEW.  I think I am quite close just struggling to get the last bit working.  Basically there is a type called stdole.Picture which I believe should accept the handle that GetMainHwnd and then we end up with a reference to put into an activeX image but I am struggling to get past a couple of errors at the moment but will let you know when I make any progress.

Regards,

James Mc
========
CLA and cRIO Fanatic
My writings on LabVIEW Development are at devs.wiresmithtech.com
Message 2 of 29
(9,769 Views)

Hi James

Thanks for your efforts and I look forward to hearing something from you in the near future.

Regards

Adam

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 29
(9,729 Views)

Hi Adam,