LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple unbundles when pipelining too costly on FPGA?

Solved!
Go to solution

Save me from this wiring pain

I've inherited this code to extend. I'm new to FPGA programming but my understanding is that pipelining the steps in this loop will make it take up less memory.
But several pieces of data are being sent around and I need to add more and , arranging all these wires and fighting the shift registers every time I need to add something is awful.

My question is can I just send the cluster wire round, unbundling it at each point? or will these extra unbundles defeat the point of the pipelining? t I don't have a good feel for the cost of things on the FPGA

This is a similar question to this: https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Cluster-performance-quot-single-unbundle-quot-vs-quot-multiple/td-p...

but the above doesn't refer to FPGA and while I agree with the summary of simplifying ones block diagram to avoid feeling the need for having multiple unbundles, I feel like the need for pipelining is what is causing my need and I can't change that.

Here's the code, after all my additions it'll have about 30 wires looping around the frame, or 6 unbundles if I can go that route. 

original code wiring.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(602 Views)

Oh i should add, the data set in question isn't large. Due to be maximum 18 u32 elements in the end

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(601 Views)

Wow, you can thank the developer for leaving you this huge plate of spaghetti 😁.

You normally use pipelining when you have a lengthy operation in a tight loop (like a single-cycle timed loop). The idea is to break down this operation into smaller ones that can be executed in parallel. The downside is that by passing data through a shift register, you add a delay at each operation because you use the data from the previous iteration.