LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get time stamp

Hi All,

As I am new to Labview, I am asking another (possibly!) simple/naive question!

I know how to get latest y-value while running a VI. However, I do not know how to get the associated time stamp (x-value) with the y-value.

I need both the x & y values during the execution of my program to do some other things.

Please see attached code.

I used the Index Array Function. But it only gave me y-value. No time stamp!

Cheers,

Saif

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(3,790 Views)

Hello Vhha,

That's actually a good question there. The data type returned by the DAQ Assistant is dynamic, and allows you to convert them into different data type. If you need the timestamp information, you may want to convert your data into waveforms.

In fact, as you DAQ assistant has 2 channels, you can get an array of 2 waveforms. To do so, use the Convert dynamic data function in the Express -> Manipulation palette, then configure it to get a 1D array of waveforms.

DAQtoWF.png

Regards,

Eric

Eric M. - Senior Software Engineer
Certified LabVIEW Architect - Certified LabVIEW Embedded Systems Developer - Certified LabWindows™/CVI Developer
Neosoft Technologies inc.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(3,779 Views)

As Eric mentioned, you should have the DAQ Assistant output a waveform.  The waveform is a fancy cluster with Y (the array of data points), t0 (the timestamp of the first data point), and dt (the time between samples).  To get the timestamp of the last element, you will have to multiply the number of points by dt and then add t0.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 20
(3,761 Views)

Hi Eric,

Thanks so much!