VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

setting up reflective memory

Hello,

I am new to Veristand and need help getting reflective memory working properly.  I am currently running Veristand 2011 on 2 RT machines using the Fanuc 5565 reflective memory cards.  I set up a read and write for reflective memory between the 2 RT machines.  Machine A has the read and machine B has the write.  I have each channel set to a specific memory address (x4000) with the same data type (double).  When I run the system definition file, I don’t use a model, I’m just checking for communication, I have a Numeric control on machine B's channel and a Numeric Indicator on machine A's channel.  My thought is that using the control, i can change the value stored at memory location x4000 and have the Indicator show the corresponding change.  However, nothing happens when I increase or decrease the control.  Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Matt

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(7,385 Views)

You might want to read these steps through before performing any of them in case there's one that catches your eye.

Check:

1. Hardware setup
    • Check the manual Table 1-1 and ensure each RM card has a unique address on switch 2.  If you're using the PMC to PXI riser board, you'll have to remove the riser board to check the address.  You should use an ESD strap while handling the 5565 boards.
    • Check Table 1-2 and ensure each RM card has compatible redundancy and rouge settings on switch 1.  If you're unsure what these settings mean then turn all positions of switch 1 OFF.
    • Wire Tx of card 1 to Rx of card 2.
    • Wire Tx of card 2 to Rx of card 1.
    • Completely seat the cards in the chassis and power up.
  2. Hardware driver