cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Audio from microphone and modulation, basic questions

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am using Labview communications and plan to use the USRP2901 for wireless transmission later.

For now, I am trying to acquire audio data from my microphone and then transform it into bits and input this into the PSK modulation. To acquire the sound data I was told to use the "Continuous sound input" from Labview's examples and also for the PSK modulation, I want to use the transmitter "PSK Tx" that is also an example in Labview comms.

I am a beginner with labview and feel that I lack some basic understanding, so here are my questions:

- I know that IQ Rate means the sampling frequency (sample rate)

- I know that PSK modulation maps Bits into Symbols (BPSK maps 1 bits into 1 symbol, QPSK maps 2 bits into 1 symbol..)

- I understand the bits that get transformed into symbols part, however where are the "samples" in all of this? I always hear about samples however I don't see their role here. In which stage of the modulation chain, are we working with samples?

- What does "1 frame of data" in all of this mean? does a frame contain symbols, or samples? 

- I hear my teacher talking about "us wanting to use 8bits" which means 8bits in 1 byte of data I think, but why 8bits? and where in my labview examples am I supposed to specify this "8bits"

- Finally, how do I choose an IQ rate and also "number of samples/channel" ? does it have a relation to which type of modulation am I using?

Thank you!!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,249 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author eriym

Hi eriym,

From my understanding,

- I know that IQ Rate means the sampling frequency (sample rate)

--> Yes

- I know that PSK modulation maps Bits into Symbols (BPSK maps 1 bits into 1 symbol, QPSK maps 2 bits into 1 symbol..)