Signal Conditioning

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCXI-1120 module

I am working a project where we want to measure temperature and pressure with LabVIEW. The pressure transducers put out a 4-20mA signal. My customer already has the following equipment. SCXI 1001 chassis, (2) 1120 modules, a 1320 terminal block and a 1328 terminal block. I am fairly new to the hardware side of this but it appears to me that I can use the 1328 with an 1120 module for the temps and the 1320 with the other 1120 module for the transducers with the 4-20mA signal. Are my assumptions correct? Also is the SCXI-1001 chassis powered by battery?
Thanks for any help.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,438 Views)
Your assumptions are right on the money. With this hardware selection the 1328 is better for the temperature measurements and the 1320 would be better used for the pressure transducer measurements. Both of these terminal blocks are compatable with the 1120 modules.

The SCXI-1001 chassis actually uses AC power. You can get a sine wave DC-to-AC power inverter to power your AC chassis with a DC power supply if you wish.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,438 Views)
Thanks for your response. Now for choosing a DAQ board, I've got it narrowed down between the NI PCI 6011E and the 6033E, but I think since I will have 8 thermocouples and 3 pressure transducers, that rules out the 6011E. Also, what is the difference between single ended and differential? Which should I use?
Thanks again for your response.
Dave
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,438 Views)