From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Load Cell DAQ hardware (and software) suggestion

Hi! I am a student working on a mechanical engineering project which revolves around designing a torsion testing machine. The machine will be reading the load applied to a shaft at a certain offset with the use of a tensile load cell. The load cell specifications are as follows:

S-type

Code: RLT0010

Excitation voltage: 10V

Output: 2mV/V

Capacity: 98 N or 10 kgf

Bridge Resistance: 350 ohms

The connector is a 5-pin DIN type.

I am new to interfacing measurement hardware to computers. The initial idea was to get a readout on an indicator on LabView. What kind of hardware do I need in order to convert the load cell signal, and feed it to a PC where it will be displayed through a LabView VI?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,815 Views)

Hi straits,

Thanks for joining the community! Smiley Happy

Your load cell has an analogue voltage ouput, so we need hardware that can take an analogue input voltage.  There is an incredibly broad range of products that NI provides for that purpose - however it will be up to you to decide which specification you require (consider resolution, sampling rate, etc).

There are also a number of platforms - we offer low-cost USB interfaces, which will get you up and running with a low channel count.  Additionally you may consider the CompactDAQ - this is a modular platform where you can swap in/out modules for different measurement types, if you think the project might progress and require more channels of differing measurement types - this would be the way to go.  There is a fairly high level comparison of our offerings here.