Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPGA jitter issues

Dear LabVIEW community,

within a university project I got the task to programm a trigger-based event in FPGA (the professor recommended using FPGA due to its fast reaction times). I already programmed a different projekt using DAQmx drivers on a compactRIO for data aquisition, but my knowledge is somewhat limited (short project schedules) and I'm totally new to FPGA.

I'm using a cRIO 9045 and the 9401 module. All necessary software packages are avalaible.

The task:

A rotor is running a variable amount of rpm (somewhat between 1000 rpm and 30,000 rpm).

A TTL-signal is generated every revolution (1f-signal).

The user should be able to vary the trigger event in regards to the angle. E.g. the TTL-output trigger shall occur at 90° phaseshift to the 1f-impuls. This TTL-Output hast to be very, very reproducible between every user-initialized event.

At the moment I'm using a testing scenario with a frequency generator with a rectangle signal (1f-signal simulation) and an oszilloscope to measure the TTL-input and output to verify the phaseshift.

Issue:

If I use the angle of 0° for a direct trigger (wait time = zero ticks), I measure a constant delay from input to output about 400ns which is totally fine for the task as long as it is constant and a jitter about 25ns. I guess this jitter time is a result of the 40MHz onboard timer (40MHz = 25ns)

If I use the angle of 180° or 360°, the jitter increases somewhat linear up to 2 microseconds (!) at 360° phaseshift @100Hz (6,000RPM).

The jitter decreases at higher input frequencies (400ns @ 500Hz (30,000RPM) but the relative amount of jitter-error stays constant (about 0.072°).

Explanation of my .vi:

The TTL-Output is set to zero at the beginning and the delay between two rising flanks of the input signal are measured to get the rotational speed. I used mainly the tacts to increase the accuracy.