cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Control Software with Teststand

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm trying to create sequences that will open my company control software and read and write to the control software. I'm fairly new to TestStand and I can't figure out how to get started with this task. 

For example, I would like TestStand to change modes of the software, input data and retreive data from the software, etc. How would I go about doing this?

Thanks, Jon

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,365 Views)

Jon,

what control software are you talking about? SAP?

TestStand most likely cannot directly interact with that software. I recommend you to really dig into TestStand and learn how to implement custom step types (for something like property loader) and custom report plugins (writing test results back to the 'control software').

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,361 Views)

Hi Norbert,

No, the control software is not SAP. It's basically a GUI for a NI I/O controller programmed in labview. What would custom step types and custom report plugins do?

Thanks,

Jon

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,351 Views)

If the 'control application' is custom implemented, i hope you have information about the API.

If so, you can create modules which use the API to communicate with that software and call these from TS.

Custom step type is useful to provide general (company standardized) functionality for sequence developers.

Custom report plugin is used to write test results to a proprietary format like custom file formats (e.g. Excel) or conrol external applications for passing data.

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(3,335 Views)