NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I exit and restart LabVIEW from within Teststand?

Hi,

I'm new to Teststand, but is it possible to exit and restart LabVIEW from within Teststand?

We got problems with Teststand and/or LabVIEW after running our test sequence a number of times, but if we exit and restart Teststand (and this also exit and restart LabVIEW) we don't see any problem.

So I would like to only exit and restart LabVIEW and keep Teststand to see if this will solve our problem.

Thanks

Bent

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,710 Views)
Sounds like a bandaid. What is the exact nature of the problem? What versions of TestStand and LabVIEW are you using?
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,708 Views)

Teststand v4.2.1 and LabVIEW v8.6.1 running on Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3.

We got many different problem like:

1) Run-Time Error in Teststand Error Code -17500 with no details

2) TestExec.exe crash with Windows error Send / No Send error report.

3) LabVIEW: Generic error. An error occurred loading VI 'nameof.vi'. LabVIEW load error code 23: There is not enough memory to load this VI.

4) and more errors like these.

The problem is NOT consistent and accure after a number of runs. But to trace the problem back to either Teststand or LabVIEW or our programming, I would like to exit and close LabVIEW after every run and then restart it at the beginning of the next run. Because when we exit/close both Teststand and LabVIEW after one run and restart it for the next run we does NOT expirence any crashes, Rin-Time Errors or any other problem.

So is it possible to get Teststand to exit and close LabVIEW and then restart it again?

Thanks

Bent

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(4,700 Views)

Hi,

You can do an Engine.UnloadAllModules at the end of your test run.

When you say many runs, how many? Whats the size of your sequencefile in terms of Steps that record results?

Regards

Ray Farmer

Regards
Ray Farmer
0 Kudos