NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enter a Testnumber value in the results

Solved!
Go to solution

Where and how would be the best way to enter a testnumber for each test I run so that the test would have a test number column in the database associated with it.

Joe.
"NOTHING IS EVER EASY"
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(320 Views)

I'm not an expert

maybe this give you an idea. See our test result -html and Test Sequence.

Marinuss_0-1727943299902.png

Marinuss_2-1727943375404.png

Marinus

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(289 Views)

You mean like assigning a (human readable) unique identifier to each test?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(265 Views)

Hi

I was thinking you can change the test names to 1, 2, 3 etc.

Marinus

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(258 Views)

Thanks but I’d really rather not do it this way. I would rather have a number tied directly to the test itself that way I can create a master test table in the database that corresponds to the test numbers. Makes it easier to generate a test report from the database. 

Joe.
"NOTHING IS EVER EASY"
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(249 Views)

Yes exactly. This would make it a little easier when creating a report from the database itself. Ultimately the goal is to have a master table in the database that has names associated with test numbers. I just need a way to put the testnumber in the test results or to be able to add it in the database somewhere that correlates to the actual test performed. 

Joe.
"NOTHING IS EVER EASY"
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 11
(238 Views)

I'll start with some background before sketching a possible solution...

TestStands result collection basically works by harvesting the result containers from the steps in a sequence.

The data from the result containers are than written into the report or database by the result processing.

Consequently, the data you want to have in the report / database should go into the result container of the step.