From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deleting a Step

I am new to TestStand 2014, so your patience is appreciated Smiley Happy.

I am trying to create a sequence that allows the user to drag a custom step onto the Steps window. This will launch a custom form that they can use to enter some info, but it also has a Cancel button on it. If they press Cancel, I want it to not add the step that they are adding. In other words, cancel not only the custom form, but also cancel the drag and drop of the step. It should not show up in the Steps.

What I've done is create a .NET assembly with the form and all that works fine. I then created a custom step type in TestStand. I added a new edit Substep to it and gave it the name OnNewStep that calls my .NET assembly. It passes the sequence context in and works fine.

When I drag an drop a new step of this type, it behaves as expected. That is, it opens the form and if I press OK, it does what it should (adds a new Local property). But it's when I press Cancel, it still adds the step. I noticed that the step is already added when the form opens, so I thought I could just delete it in the C# code if the user cancels. However, I am unable to figure out how to do this.

I tried using the SequenceContext.Sequence.DeleteStep and .RemoveStep, but neither of them seems to work. I am able to capture that steps info (index, group, unique id), but when it tries to delete it, I keep getting errors like "You must increment the change count of the edited file" or others that I fail to remember at the moment.

Can anyone please suggest a way to accomplish this or provide any other help that I can use?

Regards,
Scott

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,229 Views)