From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best practice for using hardware input to start tests from the parallel process model in TestStand

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello TestStand users!

We are working on a test system that uses the parallel process model in TestStand, but unlike in all the examples I've seen, the tests for each test socket need to be "triggered" from hardware rather than from the operator entering a serial number and pressing "go".

I'm not that experienced with TestStand, but I believe the best way to do this will be to override the PreUUT model callback in the main sequence with something that monitors our hardware input, correct?

Now, if our hardware driver is a LabVIEW VI (actually three instances of a cloneable DQMH module as we'll have 24 test sockets monitored by three serial ports), could we communicate with that driver from a VI in our PreUUT override sequence, and then somehow notify our test socket to start testing based on a certain message from the hardware driver?

I'm just after some advice on how best to implement this hardware trigger in a parallel process mode. Any examples or experience would help greatly as we'd rather code it up right the first time!

Thank you!

(I've also posted this question on the DQMH forum here: https://forums.ni.com/t5/Delacor-Toolkits-Discussions/Best-practice-for-using-DQMH-to-trigger-tests-..., I didn't know which forum was most suited!)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,238 Views)

Yes, implementing it in PreUUT would be probably the best idea.

How does your driver work? Is a process running in the background or rather a send&receive VI query that returns the answer immediately?