Multisim and Ultiboard

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MultiSim - College Students Continually Resetting Software to Basic Mode

This is fairly unique request. I currently work as an IT Technician for a College based in England (UK). We appear to have a re-occurring problem with our MultiSim installs across the college. The problem is in relation to students continually resetting the Multisim Application to basic mode, thus removing the majority of menus/toolbar in the process. This is particularly annoying for our lecturers, who have to input a password and then follow about 20 steps to restore those menus.

Can anyone on these boards provide me with a quick fix that will prevent this from occurring, whilst still giving students complete access to all the functionality of the software?

Thank you for your assistance.

Kind regards,

Steven.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,537 Views)

Hi Steven,

Which Toolbars and Menus are you talking about? Is it the toolbars such as Transistor Components, Analog Components, Simulation etc.?

I assume that the students only have access to Multisim Base but the Lecturers have acess to a higher edition? If so, which edition do the lecturers have access to?

Kind regards,

James W
Controls Systems Engineer
STFC
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,518 Views)

Hi James,

Thank you for your reply.

I have just spoken with the lecturer who has submitted this job and he has told me the problem is with all of the menus/toolbars, apparently they turn purple and are no longer there. He then has to input the Rodney password and follow about 12 steps to reset them. This is not ideal as he has to spend time administering an entire classroom of PC's.

As far as we are aware there is no safeguards in place to stop students placing the application into basic mode. We also have to give students full permissions on the programs folder of MultiSim to allow them to complete their work.