cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Components not in multisim libraries

Hi!

I'm an italian high school teacher.

I'm newbie to MultiSim.

I'd like to simulate a PWM interface that use, among others, this two componenents that are'nt in the MS embedded libraries:

• STMicroelectronics STP10NK60ZFP
  • Optoisolatore uscita transistor 4N35X

I'd like to know wich is the better and faster way to solve the issue:

1. search and find an equivalent component in the MultiSim library
  2. use a spice model available on the productor's website (if there is one)

I've tried the second way for the mosfet following this tutorial: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/3173/en/

But at step 6 I've received this error message:

error.png

I must specify that I'm a mechanical engineer and I teach System and Automation with limited electronic competencies.

Is there anyone that can help me?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,953 Views)

Hi,

searching for your error message I found two forum threads that could give you useful insight:

In the meantime I'll ask NI Multisim experts for advice about the most convenient way to simulate components not present in Multisim embedded libraries.

Regards,

Alessia

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,914 Views)

Hi. Alessia.

This is a very important issue for me.

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,905 Views)

Hi,

it seems you made a mistake in one of the first steps in the Component Wizard; you defined a symbol to use on the schematics having 3 pins (component symbol pins), but the SPICE code defines 5 inputs/outputs (model pins). That does not match up. I'd guess you picked a symbol with only three pins in step 3 of the wizard.

If you can't figure it out, could you please attach the component file? Otherwise I'm afraid I can't help you that much.

Regards,

Alessia

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(3,900 Views)

Hi alamanna, thansk for your reply.

I've downloaded the model directly from the ST website: