cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triggering multiple boards

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I have a PXI-1033 chassis with a PXI-6534 digital card and a PXI-6733 analog card, and am using LabVIEW 2010 and DAQmx (I'm fairly new to both). I am trying to synchronise sets of ~1min digital and analog output with a timing resolution of about 1us. To store the value of every channel at every 1us would need more memory than the cards have, so I've set up a trigger to tell them when a channel needs to change.

Currently, the way I have it set up is as follows: the digital and analog output arrays are loaded onto the cards, and they are configured for output with sample clocks that take an external trigger input (PFI2 and PFI5, respectively). One of the digital output lines on the 6733 is set up to output a pulse whenever a channel needs to change. That line is plugged into PFI2 on the 6534 and PFI5 on the 6733.

It works as expected, but I have a couple of questions:

1) At the moment, I'm using an external function generator running at 1MHz as the clock for the digital output on the 6733 (the one that acts as a trigger). I'd rather not need an external device to do this: is there an internal clock either on the cards or in the PXI chassis that I can use instead? I tried selecting "OnboardClock" as the source for the Sample Clock VI, but it gave an error: "Source terminal to be routed could not be found on the device."

2) Is there a way of routing the trigger signals internally, rather than having BNC cables running between the boards? (This one is less important; it's more of an aesthetic issue.)

Any help is much appreciated 🙂

Rob

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,754 Views)

Take a look at this document

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3615

Q1: You will see that Onboard clock is for PCI sync, PXI allows you to use a PXI_CLK