From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sending a byte to a digital output using a VI

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

Since i'm new to LW, i would like some help and advices on something using a USB-6002 NI DAQmx.

I would like to setup a digital potentiometer (MCP41100) and for that i need to send the correct data as a byte, in serial, so it could be configured correctly. My problem is, i don't see how to "transfer" the byte into the component trough a digital I/O of the USB-6002. Which function can i use ?

Thanks for your help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,452 Views)

@4NT4R35 wrote:

Since i'm new to LW, i would like some help and advices on something using a USB-6002 NI DAQmx.

Your title mentions a VI, but your description says you are using LabWindows.  That does not match.  Are you using LabVIEW or LabWindows/CVI?  I will assume LabVIEW in the below comments.

I have not tried setting up a USB-6002, but you should be able to do a simple setup of a single 8-bit port as the channel.  Then you just write a single sample when you want with DAQmx Write.vi (digital, single sample, single channel, U8 port).  Look in the example finder (Help->Find Examples).  There should be something in there to get you going.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(5,430 Views)

@crossrulz wrote: