Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I Synchronize two counters in CVI using NI-DAQmx

Hi, I am new to NI-DAQmx, and I would like to program counting of random digital pulses using two counters in LabWindowsCVI and a PCI6229 multifunction card. I have the evaluation copy for CVI 7.1
I would like to set counter0, to count pulses from the 10MHz clock, to generate a single pulse (duration in the few ms timescale), that will gate counter1 in the same card.
When I try to route the output from counter0 to the gate of counter1 I get an error code
(-89137, "The specified route can not be satisfied because it requires resources that are currently in use by another route").
How can one do the equivalent of the "Select_Signal()" in the traditional NI-DAQ?"
I have also a hard time seting the counter0 to actually count a number of clock cycles from the 10 MHz clock.
What is the NI-DAQmx equivalent of the function "GPCTR_Change_Parameter()" to program a counter to count a predefined number of clock cycles?
Any suggestions are welcome.

Fundadero
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(5,365 Views)
Hi Fundadero-

It sounds like you're programming for an M Series card with counter operations and need a bit of help with DAQmx functions.

In order to count edges of the 10MHz reference clock you will need to use a format similar to that found in the CVI shipping example "CntDigEv.prj." This is found in the NI Example Finder (Help>>Find Examples) under Hardware Input and Output>>DAQmx>>Counter Measurements>>Count Digital Events. In order to measure pulses from a source rather than the default input terminal (ctrXsource where X is the counter number), you will need to use the function DAQmxSetCICountEdgesTerm(taskhandle char[] counter, char source terminal) as follows:

DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateTask("",&taskHandle));
DAQmxErrChk (DAQmxCreateCICountEdgesChan(taskHandle,chan,"",edge,initialCount,countDirection));