Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ Fifo buffer transfer

Hi,

I'm currently working on a program for continuous analog output and acquisition. This is new to me, so I'm still learning. From what I've read, the DAQmx Read.vi controls the transfer of samples from the PC buffer to Labview (for acquisition), and the PC buffer size is controlled by the DAQmx Timing.vi.

However, what controls the transfer of data from the DAQ board FIFO buffer to the PC buffer  ? What triggers the transfer ?

Thanks,

ps : I have a M series PCI-6221 card and Labview 8.0 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,251 Views)

Hello scalpas,

Thanks for your post and questions about DMA.

You are correct in stating that the DAQmx timing.vi is used to control the buffer size. It also sets the buffer size in the computer memory that it uses based on the parameters set by the user. The transfer of data is triggered by the DAQmx read.vi. So in short the transfers are all handled by the DAQmx driver for you.   If you don't read and fill up your buffer then the data is not moving from this memory and will cause a memory overflow. The driver only reserves the amount of memory that you as the user specifies. Let me know if this clears up your questions/concerns about how DMA works using the DAQmx driver. 

DMA

Cheers!

Corby_B

http://www.ni.com/support 

Message 2 of 4
(4,236 Views)
Yes, that clears things up. Thanks for you answer !
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(4,199 Views)

I just wanted to add a few thoughts on this thread.  You are correct that a DAQmx Read triggers the transfer from your computer's RAM to LabVIEW.  However, the data being transferred from the board into memory is a bit more complicated and depends quite a bit on the hardware you are using, the timing configuration and other task parameters.