From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choose proper resistor for voltage divider with NI 9205

Solved!
Go to solution

Good Morning,

I am trying to read some voltage inputs using the module NI 9205 in a CompactRIO, but those are too high for the rating of the modules. They come as 24V, but I need them to be within 10V. I was thinking therefore to have a voltage divider before the module, to lower down the voltage, but not being an expert I was wondering how I should do it in a proper way. Especially I would like to know how I could design the size of the resistor, in order to be sure that the voltage coming into the module will be <10V.

Sorry for the very basic question, but I would have a real bad day if I screw up one module of the NI system.

Best,

Davide

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,417 Views)

You will want something like a 1.5MOhm and 1MOhm resistors.  That will give you a really low load current for your output.  For a 24V input, that will give you a 9.6V output.  It would also be advisable to add in an Op-amp circuit to act as a buffer between your output and the DAQ input.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,401 Views)

Dear crossrulz,

Thank you very much for the prompt reply! I'm not sure that for my application I will need an OpAmp, is it intended to reduce the load from the my output side?