Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Servo motors, rpm measurements and accelerometers

Hello reader,

Please excuse my question if it seems trivial but I am an undergrad trying to make LabVIEW work! We are running LabVIEW 8 and plan to use USB-6009 to make the measurements. I have read that this device isn't the best for control tasks. Any suggestions?

For our experiment, we wish to have six controllable spinning cylinders attached to servo motors or stepper motors, which ever works the best. Each cylinder will be spinning at a set rpm which we wish to measure the desired rpm versus actual at all times. If possible, we would like to have an accelerometer functioning as well.

I was wondering if this is possible with LabVIEW. If so, does anyone have any suggestions on how one might do this?

Thank you very much for your time!

-I. Fritz

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,303 Views)
Correction - It's a USB-6008, sorry.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,302 Views)

ifritz,

there are several  considerations for choosing a servo or a stepper:

• Inertia of the cylinders
  • maximum rpm values
  • maximum acceleration and deceleration values 

The maximum velocity for stepper motors is typically 3000 rpm. At this velocity the torque that the motor can provide has decreased to a small fraction of the specified maximum torque.Stepper motors have very limited capabilities to compensate following errors, so you need to calculate carefully the required torque at a given velocity and compare these values with the motor specs. Additionally you need to make sure, that the ratio between the motor's inertia and the inertia of the load is not too low. To avoid torque reflections this value should be somewhere in the range of 1:1 and 1:5.

If you find a stepper, that is a good match for your application, the difference between commanded speed and measured speed should be very close to zero (except potentially some micro-oscillations).