Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

calibration with mechanical positioning

I have a piston controlled with by a very precise actuator. 

The design involves moving the piston up to grab a part and moving back down to the field of view of the camera and measuring the height of the part that was just received.

The camera lens is focused on the center of the piston.

I'm new to Machine Vision, and I don't know how to calibrate something like this.

I have seen the examples in \examples\Vision\Calibration\

But all of those examples are based off of having a calibrated card/image to base measurements from.

Is it possible to create a calibration routine that involves moving the piston in fixed measured heights. I can move the piston in 1mm increments well within the tolerance of the actuator. 

I don't know how to apply this technique to the image calibration VI's that are seen in the  \examples\Vision\Calibration\ 

I also have the issue of depth. I would like the calibration to be based on the center of the piston. But as the piston moves up and down when lower you can see the top of the piston, and when it is higher you only see the edge of the top of the piston. 

I know the circumference of the piston. Is there a calibration operation that can apply offset by edge detection in 3D space?

When taking measurements of the part I intend the piston top to be centered of the camera vision. Where the top of the piston looks like a flat line.

Any ideas or suggestions where to begin investigating would be greatly appreciated.

At the moment I new to Vision, and don't really know where to start, or if this is possible.

How to calibrate camera with a fixed moving object?How to calibrate camera with a fixed moving object?

Engineering - The art of applied creativity  ~Theo Sutton
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,663 Views)

Hi,