cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Config Management

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

first off, I am new to CVI. I know how to do these things in other languages, but am unsure how to achieve this in CVI. So I have a couple of questions that are probably beginner questions.

I was wondering how to implement a good config management in my software, so the users can configure the hardware in a dialog and save/load it to/from file.

In LabVIEW I used to create a cluster with all the options and put that cluster into an array, so the user can configure as many channels as they like. Can I do something similar in CVI? Looking through the palettes and examples I found no way to even group front panel elements in a significant way.

Is there something I am missing or would I have to build a mask somehow populate it with the data?

As for the File I/O: I usually use XML files to store and load the data. This is convenient in most languages because you can just flatten data to XML and in reverse. When looking at the XML examples it looks like CVI does not support this kind of functionality. Do I really have to format my structures to XML by hand?

I'm also open to other approaches, there's probably a lot I have not yet considered. Thanks in advance for your help!

Remember Cunningham's Law
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,621 Views)

One way of implementing this would be as a tree control. Is there a way to integrate the channel selector into a cell?

From the DAQmx examples I get, that you can create channel selector drop downs as:

NIDAQmx_NewPhysChanAOCtrl(panelHandle,PANEL_CHANNEL,0);

Is there a way to pass the cell reference instead of PANEL_CHANNEL?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,593 Views)
Solution
Accepted by PeterFoerster