LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

virtual switch matrix

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to Labview, usually work in the embedded world so please go easy on me. I am working on a motorised x y table that uses Zaber units that have Visa drivers supplied. I can control the movement of the x y units, no problem.

What I am seeking advice on is how to implement a Switch Matrix on the Front Panel. This is a 10 x 10 matrix where the operator will use the mouse to select a position for the x y table to move to. I was thinking that I could use a "matrix" of Radio Buttons which would indicate that that particular x y co-ordinate has been selected. Behind the Radio Button would reside the x and y co-ordinate values.

Is using a Array of Clusters the best way to approach this and pass the x y variables to the block diagram. And if so, can someone point me in the right direction? I have searched through examples etc and couldn't find anything that related to my particular request. Having a Case structure with 100 possiblities seems cumbersome so I don't think I should go down that path.

Cheers, Col

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,325 Views)

Col,

Try a 2D array of boolean.  Use a rectangular LED (adjust size to square) and change it to a control.  You will need to do some scanning of the array to find the element clicked and to clear the previous element.

Lynn

Switch Matrix.png

Message 2 of 7
(3,323 Views)

Hey Lynn,

Thanks for getting back to me. Will probably be Monday before I can work on it. will let you know how I go

cheers, col

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,321 Views)

The LED array will work fine, but I need to have the X,Y co-ordinates to go with it. I have tried a 1d Array of Clusters and can run a VI okay but when I have a 2D Array of Clusters the Wire inside the for loop is broken. VI showing both 1D and 2D Arrays is attached.

So I need help with unbundling a 2D array of clusters.

cheers

Col

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7