LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

variables without indicators and controls

Solved!
Go to solution

Okay...these are probably dumb questions, but I'm still learning Labview, so please be patient with me...

How do you recommend creating the cluster bundle? Bundling existing controls and indicators, or creating a cluster constant as a prototype?...or perhaps something else I haven't thought of...?

If bundling controls and indicators, how do you bundle an indicator? It seems fairly obvious to me how to bundle a control by name, but since an indicator is an input, you can't wire an indicator input to the input of a Bundle By Name function...

If you create a cluster constant, then the prototype has to be manually updated every time a new control, indicator or passed parameter is added to the program, correct? What if the control or indicator label changes...wouldn't that also have be changed in the cluster constant? Seems like changing this in two places may introduce human error, which brings us back around to the benefit of doing it this way...local variables stay linked to their associated control or indicator, and update automatically.

0 Kudos
Message 31 of 35
(902 Views)

@R.Gibson wrote:

Okay...these are probably dumb questions, but I'm still learning Labview, so please be patient with me...

How do you recommend creating the cluster bundle? Bundling existing controls and indicators, or creating a cluster constant as a prototype?...or perhaps something else I haven't thought of...?

Usually how I do it is quick and dirty.  I make a cluster constant, make constants from the terminals and put them in the cluster constant.  I then make a typedef out of the cluster constant... Which actually answers a few questions of yours below...