LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

using a NI 9265 to open a valve

Hello everyone.

I've just been given a project to make a 'student testrig' that used to run on software called 'Generix' to work on 'Labview'. They have given me Labview 7.1 to do it. The end goal will be to create a VI that will allow students to create and test teh differences between a P, PI and PID system. Since I have no experience yet using Labview I'll probably need your help in the upcomming weeks Smiley Happy But first things first, at the moment I'm still getting familiar with the testrig, its components and Labview 7.1.

The testrig consist of a pump, pneumatic valve, flowmeter and a levelmeter. Using a NI 9203 I've gotten both meters to display correctly in a VI. But when I try to open the valve using a NI 9265 I get no satisfying results. In 'Measurement&Automation Explorer' (M&AE) I can control and open the valve by entering a value between 4mA and 20mA. But I'm doing something wrong when I try to do this by pointer or dial using Labview. In VI when i just use DAQ i go the the M&AE. I've attached my latest attempt.

Perhaps one of you guru's can give me a pointer on how to operate the valve using Labview?

Kind regards,

Ivo

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,992 Views)

Ow I've tried to use the example finder but for some reason it isn't working on that pc.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,985 Views)

Hello Vergilius,

Try the attached snippet.It should work, if there are no compatibility issues (I am using LV 2009).

ao.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,978 Views)

Thanks, I'll try it as soon as I get back there. That won't be till thursday however.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,970 Views)