LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stop and start saving in multiple files without stopping run (cdaq)

Hi,

I'm very new to Labview.

I'm currently trying to create a Labview program for my CDAQ where I can constantly look at the temperature and RTD plots. I want to leave them running constantly.

From time to time I want to be able to start saving data and stop when I want to without stopping the whole program from running. Whenever I stop saving data I want to save this data in a new file and not the same file as before. Currently I have to stop the whole program from running to create a new file.

Furthermore the time in the saved file should be able to start from 0 when i start saving and reset whenever i stop. Currently I unfortunately only managed to stop the time while it's turned off of saving. Once i restart it will switch to the time the program has started running.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(756 Views)

A couple of comments (related to your being "new to LabVIEW"):

• Try to avoid using the Dreaded DAQ Assistant (DDA) and its evil Twin, the Dynamic Data Wire (the black-and-white Checkerboard Wire coming out of the DDA).  There are excellent White Papers on DAQmx, and one of the best is "Learn 10 Functions in NI-DAQmx and Handle 80 Percent of your Data Acquisition Applications" (start typing this into a Web Search Engine and you should quickly find it, even if I missed a word or two in the title).  Disregard the first item (about the DDA) and see how simple it is to use MAX and/or the LabVIEW Project to create a DAQmx Task, then "do 80% of your tasks" with a configuration function,a Start function, a read (or write) function in a loop, and a Stop function.