cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

search for header data in serial data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm new to LabVIEW and trying to use the serial port to search for header data to synchronise with.

I can't get the program to run without an overrun error.

Any ideas?  The program should run through three states, wait for header, size and receive data. 

Many thanks.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,549 Views)

I haven't managed to get 2019 installed yet.  Could you please do a File->Save For Previous?  I do have 2018 installed, but 2016 in currently my preferred version (due to the programs I am working).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,509 Views)

Wow -- you really need to learn some LabVIEW!  Here are some important things to learn and fix:

• In general (though your application might be an exception to this "rule"), Serial Communication usually involves receiving (and sending) Ascii Strings ending in <CR><LF>, which "works best" when Configure VISA is left in its default "Use Termination Character", with <LF> (0xA) as the default.  Your VISA Read then asks for 1000 characters, terminating when it gets the <LF>.
  • Learn about Queues (or better, don't learn about, and don't try to use Queues, until you know a lot more about LabVIEW).  Why you would wire the data you might get from your VISA Read into the name input for Create Queue is beyond my comprehension.
  • The Queue runs directly from Obtain Queue to Dequeue Element.  As the Queue is initially empty, Dequeue Element will never "fire", and your While loop will never do anything.

Here's what you want to do: