cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

reset control button after timer expires

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi folks-

I'm a Labview newbie and I'm having trouble find the best solution to this problem: I have an Elapsed Time Express VI which I'm controling with a button (T means start, F means stop).  The user can stop the timer at any time by setting the control button to F.  I would like the button to automatically show F again if the timer expires before the user manually stops the timer.  What LV coding mechanisms should I use to accomplish this behavior?

I've tried using the button value property node driven by my timer-running boolean but it sets the button to one state or the other all the time.  It's state driven.  I need a command driven design, specifically, send a command to the button to reset when the timer expires.  I'm such a newbie that I don't even know what terms to look up.  Please help.

Thanks - John Speth

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,782 Views)

(I'm the OP.)  I stumbled upon a solution but I'd sure like someobdy to explain why it works.  My solution is this:

1. Create a local variable that points to the button I want to reset

2. Wire the local variable to the timer-running boolean

Testing shows it works but I dunno why.  Can someone please enlighten me?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,766 Views)
show your block diagram to be make it clear what you want to say
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,763 Views)

Think this is what you were requesting.

Matt Fitzsimons
NI Alliance Member
LabVIEW Champion
NI Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW, LV-RT, Vision, DAQ, Motion, and FPGA
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(3,758 Views)

Thanks, Hatef.  I should have done that.

Here's a screen shot of my timer VI.  It is the code in the SysRsrcTimer VI shown after this image.

SysRsTmr.PNG

Here's a screen shot of my code that uses the local variable.  It's only a small part of the app but it covers the discussion topic.

ClientSide.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 7