LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

real time

Hello! I am very VERY new to LabView and am having an issue with figuring out how to turn a "flood gate" off during the REAL TIME of 10:00pm to 7:00AM. The other factor is to keep the floodgate open until it hits 250" or higher. My professor is not very great at teaching us how to use this program, so I am hoping someone out there can help! Attached is the copy of my VI that I have at the moment. Thanks!

Sincerely-

Mandy

(PS I am not very computer or technical savvy, so when explaining please "dumb it down" as much as possible... I greatly appreciate it! 🙂 )

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 28
(2,991 Views)

Hi Mandy,

Welcome to the forums Smiley Happy

To reword your question:

..turn a "flood gate" off while the time is between 10:00pm to 7:00AM. (AND) The other factor is to keep the floodgate open until the depth is greater than or equal to 250".

So there are some clues in there as to the tools you will need to do the job.  It will be of most benefit to your development to have another go using those and post back the results.

Have fun!

Regards,

Peter D

Message 2 of 28
(2,971 Views)

Also, you'll have to think how to turn the date and time string into a number.

- Do you need to know minutes if it is between 20:00 and 07:00?

Regards,

Peter D

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 28
(2,963 Views)

I honestly am not sure. My professor never really went into detail. Would it be easier to calculate the amount of minutes in between those hours to form the loop?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 28
(2,950 Views)

I don't think you need to know the minutes.

You wrote it yourself, "10:00pm to 7:00AM" the floodgate is 'off'.  That is the same as saying, between 07:00 and 20:00 - the floodgate is 'on' - currently ignoring what happens at exactly 07:00 or 22:00.