LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem to sort data in array

sorry im still new in Labview..can i know how do i change the mechanical action to switch?

0 Kudos
Message 31 of 50
(1,191 Views)

To change the mechanical action of a boolean control context-click on the control and select Mechanical Action (near the bottom of the pop-up menu).  Switch when Pressed is probably the choice you want if you will be using locals.

Latch when Released is the default action for Stop and OK buttons because the switch setting returns to False when the switch is read by the program.  This makes it behave like a momentary switch.  Because of the way dataflow works, the Latch type actions cannot be used with local variables.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 32 of 50
(1,187 Views)

@icycool wrote:

i've tried it but didnt work..i make a local variable from loop 1 and connect it to stop at loop 2 and vise versa but still cannot

NO! No local variable needed here! Keep it simple!  Delete the stop button in the left loop and place the remaining stop button in its place. You don't need the terminal in the event loop.

The UI loop has an event structure and and event case for a value change on the stop button, thus there is no need to have any local variable there. You have one event case shared for "clear" and "stop", thus simply invert the "clear" and wire to the loop condition. Two possible cases:

1. "Clear" was pressed. Inverting the "clear" causes a FALSE and the loop continues
  2. "Stop" was pressed. Thus clear is FALSE and inverting it give a TRUE to the loop condition and both loop stop. One directly, one via the event structure. Makes sense?
(Alternatively, you can make a unique case for "STOP: value changed" and use either a boolean TRUE constant or the "Newval" event terminal to stop the event loop)
In summary:
  • Ignore all misguided advice about adding local variables