LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

passing data from mainvi to subvi

Hello everyone, 

I am fairly new to labview and programming and came up some tricky things, atleast for me.

I searched for the answers and tried one or two solutions but nothing works, or atleast I cant get it to work. Any help would be higly appreciated!

• The thing is, I want my data, what is gathered from an arduino trough serial, available on main and subvi. when I post the data to the subvi the main vi freezes. It has to display it at the same time, or at least at the background untill the subvi is closed. So if I call the subvi the data on the main vi freezes due to the event? And the data the subvi is presenting isnt accurate, it shows exact the same data, it doesnt refresh for some sort of reason.

• Also, I cant get the graphs to use the system time of the computer. I like the graphs to link the system time and maybe sample the data every minute.

I dont know how to attacht it properly, i got it on a project base. I hope the attachments are well placed.

Anyway, I really want to get into it more, I really appreciate your help!

My excuse if my english or expressions are mistaken or misplaced. 

Thank you, Geert

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,054 Views)

Hi! 

For yours first issue I recommend getting know to Producent-Consumer structures. It'll provide you with independecy of main loop from subVI.

Second issue: In order to have time stamp, better is to build waveform and then define Time axis.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,045 Views)

1) Learn to use the Event Structure.  You have several loops that are just polling as fast as possible, eating up lots of CPU resources to do practically nothing.

2) Learn data flow.  A loop cannot iterate until EVERYTHING inside of it is done running.  That means your subVI must be done running before you can go read from your microcontroller again.