LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

no DMM functions in functions palette

Good Morning,

I'm VERY new to labview but I'm starting to get the hang of it. Anyway i've been searching for hours and have been unable to find a solution to my issue.

I'm running a NI PXIe-1078 chassis with PXIe-8101 controller 

I'm trying to program data aquisition for my PXI-4071 DMM in my Labview project but there are no functions in the functions palette.

I installed the NI-DMM 3.0.5 driver and can see the device connected in MAX. I can even use the soft panel and take measurements from the PXI-4071.

For the other devices i have installing the driver put the functions in the functions palette but for some reason they are all missing for the DMM. 

I've tried using the DAQmx and searching for an analog input channel but it is not on the list.

please help!

Sincerely,

Michael Reed

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,898 Views)

It is hard to tell what the problem is from the limited description. Did you install DAQmx after installing LabVIEW? Every time you install a new version of LabVIEW, you also need to install DAQmx all all other drivers again, else the functions will not show up in the palettes.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,892 Views)

I apologize if there was a lack of information. Hopefully we can work through this.

This is a new setup so all installation were made for the first time.

The first thing that I did was install Labview 2013 but I'm not sure if DAQmx was installed before or after installing NI-DMM 3.0.5, though I did attempt to uninstall and reinstall the driver recently with no luck.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,886 Views)

Michael,

the 4071 is not meant to be implemented using DAQmx. You need to use NI DMM for programming.

You know that you can select and limit the examples in the example finder to your specific hardware?

LimitExamples.PNG

Norbert

Norbert