From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

.net Frameworks in LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

I find myself needing to edit .pdf files in LabVIEW (automatically fill in forms), which requires the use of the iTextSharp.dll - which happens to be a .net framework. To do JUST this seems fairly simple using the .dll, but unfortunately I have never worked with this before in any language, let alone LabVIEW. As I am going through, calling functions etc I am having a hard time keeping track of what exactly is going on (references aren't data as I'm used to dealing with it, using output.streams, etc etc.)

My question is:  does anyone know of any good writeups or introductions to this in general?  Hopefully with LV specific discussions. I have spent awhile searching online, but most of what I have found assumes a higher level of knowledge than I seem to have.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,718 Views)

If you can find some information in e.g. C#, it's rather easy to translate, but in general you use a .net contructor and then a series of property nodes and invoke nodes.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,713 Views)

Hello Aalenox,

This looks to be a good place to get started:

NI Community: Calling .NET Assemblies from LabVIEW

https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-9138

There are quite a few LabVIEW-specific examples linked there, and the material is arranged in a pretty logical fashion.  Hope that helps!

Tom L.
Message 3 of 14
(3,710 Views)