LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

issue with Analog Signal Generation Synchronization and Digital Acquisition

Hello,

I am currently facing an issue with synchronizing the generation of an analog signal and digital data acquisition. I am using an NI PCI 6251 acquisition card. My goal is to generate an analog signal from pin AO1 while simultaneously acquiring 4 signals from the digital pins on the card.

I am aware that I can synchronize these tasks using a trigger. However, as a beginner, I am unsure about how to achieve this through software rather than hardware. Most of the tutorials I have come across demonstrate the use of a hardware trigger, whereas I specifically need a software-based solution.

Would anyone be able to assist me in resolving this problem? I am seeking guidance on how to implement a software-triggered approach and would greatly appreciate it if someone could provide me with code that accomplishes this task. Time is of the essence, so your prompt help would be invaluable.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(408 Views)

A couple different ways you could do it:

1. If both tasks are going to run at the same sample rate, you can sync with a shared sample clock without needing a trigger.  Since your device requires an external sample clock for your DI task anyway, this approach is probably the best one.

Configure the DI task to use "/Dev1/ao/SampleClock" as its own sample clock and be sure to start the DI task before starting the AO task.

2. Let the tasks remain hardware-triggered, but let your software generate the trigger signal at a time of your choosing.  For example, use a simple DO task to generate the pulse and configure the AO and DI tasks to use that signal as a trigger.  You need to use a DO line that also has a "PFI" designation, which allows it to be routed as a trigger signal.   On your device, that'll be DO lines on ports 1 and 2.

-Kevin P