LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

injection Moulding

Hi there, I’m currently studying mechatronics in Sligo institute of Technology in Ireland and we have to do a SCADA project using LabVIEW to control an injection moulding process. I work in the Water and waste water treatment area so I’ve no experience of Injection Moulding. I was wondering if anyone would have any screen shots of what an injection moulding SCADA interface would look like or a schematic/P&ID  of an injection moulding process. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Regards

Richard Crowe

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(5,668 Views)

Hey Richard,

I have a friend who runs an injection molding plant and I was just over there last week.  Not sure you're going to like my answer...no interface at all.  They don't have PC's hooked up to the tooling.  Very modern plant too.  So, I guess you can make one up.  Anybody else have any ideas?

-Matt Bradley

************ kudos always appreciated, but only when deserved **************************

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(5,642 Views)

With injection moulding, you have temperature (temperature sensor), pressure (pressure sensor), raw material (volume / displacement), possibly a mix of material if your dealing with certain hybrids (weight / volume measuremen), mould alignment (vision - although it may be taken care of mechanically, so switches or other mechanical sensor), and whatever other means that may be required for your specific requirement.  

The system may want to count the number of injections in order to determine wear or maintenance on the mould.  

If you provide more description, maybe we can suggest more ideas or find out who can help you.  LabVIEW can interface to any of the transducers listed above through some sort of DAQ device or something that will translate a voltage / signal to a digital value.

R

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(5,636 Views)
Thanks anyway Lads
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(5,607 Views)

Hi Richard