LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to do a real time plot with all data points

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a beginner in LabVIEW programming and in one of my VI's I need to plot measurement values in real time while keeping all values since the beginning, something like an infinite buffer. I have done that by appending each new measurement to an array and using a waveform graph, but I can't help but think that this is a highly inefficient method, so I would like to know if there is a better way to do that. I didn't have much success in my research so any help is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(9,783 Views)

Be careful how you use the term "Real-Time", as it has a precise meaning that is (I think) different from what you want.

You talk about an "infinite buffer".  How big is "infinite"?  Bigger than the memory on your PC (say, 16GB)?  Bigger than a large disk on your PC (> 1TB)?

How much data is coming in, and how fast?  [This has a bearing on "infinite", since it takes an infinite time to collect data being acquired at a finite rate].

What do you really need?  Do you need access to all of the data while you are acquiring it?  Do you need to view all of the data "all the time", or is it enough to see, say, the last 1000 points as they arrive, making sure that all of the data are being saved so you can go back and look at everything?

Assuming you can look at the last 1000 points and want to "save everything" to enable you, after the fact, to see the first 15 minutes of a 2-week recording session, I'd suggest the following:

• Use a Chart to plot the data as it appears.  Configure the Chart so it shows the last 1000 points you give it.  Note that to see the chart in full fidelity, you need a monitor with at least 1000 pixels width (maybe more like 2000 to give you a little "wiggle room").