LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to display data receive from arduino in labview?

Solved!
Go to solution

hi .I am a beginner in LabView. i read forum discussions to find some solution to my project .

my project is about wireless transmit & receive voltage value .The data receive should appear in lab view not in the serial monitor arduino.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,994 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author imtheperson97

Hi person97,

.I am a beginner in LabView.

Do you know this website?

i read forum discussions to find some solution to my project .

Well, LabVIEW also comes with a huge library of example VIs. There are also examples on serial communication…

The data receive should appear in lab view not in the serial monitor arduino.

First point: switch off the serial monitor. (There can be only one accessing a serial port!)

Then: when trying to read just one byte from the port you will never read the whole message of your Arduino.

- As you include some EOL chars ("End of line") in the message sent by the Arduino "Serial.PrintLn") you should try to read a "big" number of bytes (like "99"): VISARead will automatically stop at the EOL char as you have configured this behaviour with the ConfigureSerialPort function.

- Setting a timeout of 100s is senseless: in case of a problem you do NOT want to wait for your program to react on your inputs for nearly 2mins! Set a shorter (reasonable) timeout - and handle timeout errors in your code!

But then again: start with the example VIs coming with LabVIEW. (A note on them: they use the BytesAtPort function: please don't use this function for your task. It will not help you here and you don't need it!)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 6
(4,981 Views)

What's the problem in your program?

Best Regards,
Dhans 😉
Kudos are welcome 😉
Aspirant Labview Programmer (Labview 14) 😉
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6