LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to create an executable

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, I am trying to figure out how to make an executable file from LabVIEW. This is my first time ever creating an executable so I need instructions in basic terms. I tried to do it using the project manager. The file that was created needs LabVIEW Run-Time in order to work.

Is it even possible to have a LabVIEW program and create an executable that would let any computer without NI products run the appllication?

Also, I searched for some instructions of how to do this but could not find any useful ones. If anyone can direct me to a post or set of instructions that explain how to create an executable that would be perfect. Thank you!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,599 Views)

since you said you created a file from project manager and it needs the runtime, you've already created an exe and I don't understand what other instructions you need for creating an exe.

An exe requires a run-time just like every other windows program. Can't avoid it.

Message 2 of 11
(3,593 Views)

To be able to run a LabVIEW build exe file you need at least LabVIEW Run-Time Engine installed on the PC that has to run the exe.  

Message 3 of 11
(3,589 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author hotshot

Here is a link to a tutorial

Distributing Applications with the LabVIEW Application Builder

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3303

Tim
GHSP
Message 4 of 11
(3,586 Views)

so can I somehow compile the runtime with my executable file so that in the end, the user can run the executable file I created? Does that make sense? Has anyone done that?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(3,569 Views)

The user can run any executable you want as long as the run-time gets installed - a separate install. A long time ago, the build included the run-time. A separate run-time is considered a feature.

Message 6 of 11
(3,560 Views)