LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

creating an array/averaging question

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to labview and I'm having problems understanding how to create an array.

I'm using a Arduino Uno as my DAQ and when I take an anolog measurement I've seen a lot of fuctuation in my measurement. I know with arduino you can perform simple averaging using the "Get Finite Analog Sample" function, but I know I won't be using an Arduino long term and trying to figure out the proper way to do it.

When I average with the Arduino IDE I usually have code that looks like this:

float analogsum = 0;

for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++){

analogSum += analogRead(analogPin); //where analogRead converts the analog value to a 10-bit digital value\

}

average = analogSum/10;

I'm trying to create this same function in LabView. The only way I can imagine to sum the analog value from each iteration, would be to store each value in an array, and then add them together and divide by the number of iterations in my for loop.

How would I do this in Labview?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,055 Views)

Hi awwende,

you may use one of the "Mean" functions in the math palette.

Or you may use SumArray with a divide afterwards.

Or may use the same approach like on the Arduino by adding scalar values and dividing after the loop...

Or...

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,048 Views)

What kind of average are you trying to do?  Do you want a moving average?  Or do you just want to get 10 values and average them?

The get 10 and average is super simple.  Just put your reading of the values inside of a FOR loop.  Autoindex the values to go out of the FOR loop.  You instantly have an array of values.  Then you can just use the Mean function to get the average.  The Mean function is in the Mathematics->Probability & Statistics palette.

GCentral