LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

create a sub block

Hi,

I'm new to labview and I'm wondering if it is possible to create a kind of sub block (not really a sub-vi).

I've created a timeout event which I use to initialize my project. A lot of values or other properties are set to there initial value. This takes up a lot of space in the block diagram.

I want to put all of these in a single block that I can call from the main block (like a function call in C) but if I use a sub-vi an input terminal is created for each property which isn't really what I want.

thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,482 Views)

A sub vi is what you need. You can add all of your controls and indicators to a cluster and then it comes out of the sub vi as one wire. You can look at examples of how to use clusters. You can also look into action engines.

Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,468 Views)

The answer is no. The quick&dirty workaround is using the highly deprecated Stacked Sequence structure (I will probably be rebuffed for giving you this suggestion). This involves enclosing your execution code in a Flat Sequence Structure, then right-click on its border and Replace with Stacked Sequence. Your code will be in frame #1. Finally, move your initialisation code to frame #0.

Another possibility is to use a state machine with at least 2 states, let's say Init and Exec. A state machine would be very useful if you ever need to manage a sequence of operations (each one would be run in one state - or maybe more than one depending on its complexity) with the possibility of stopping the sequence before finishing and handling errors in a single state.

Paolo
-------------------
LV 7.1, 2011, 2017, 2019, 2021
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,453 Views)