LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

comparing sine and triangle waves

hello everyone,

i'm a student from belgium and i have to program an BLDC motor with labview. for this i need a PWM (pulse width modulated) signal. i want to do this by comparing a sine wave with a triangle wave, theoretically this should give me

block wave with different duty cycle. i have added a picture to make my question more clear.

PWM.PNG  

as you can see there are two triangle waves to compare with the sine wave, every time one of the triangle crosses the sine wave a pulse is generated and stays high untill the next cross.

thanx in advance 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(7,723 Views)

Hi Kapoew

Have a look at this community example. Should give you a place to start.

Best Regards

David

NISW

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 19
(7,710 Views)

hi, thanks for the quick reply, i have a small problem i'm working with labview 8.5

so i can't open the VI is there a possibility on how to do this? like a small converter or something like that?

or should i just download the evaluation version from national instruments? 

thx in advance 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 19
(7,694 Views)

Hi

I converted it to 8.5 for you.

Best Regards

David

Message 4 of 19
(7,680 Views)

hi, again thanks for converting it to 8.5.

i have another question about this topic. when i want to add a phase shift of 240° to the sine wave i'm getting this error:

LabVIEW:  (Hex 0xFFFFF8F6) Waveforms have different dt values.

but for 120° it isn't a problem. i changed the original VI but can't upload it to this topic so i added a picture.

problem.JPG 

thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 19
(7,658 Views)

I don't have LV here to check, but I think the waveform VIs expect the phase in radians, not degrees. 240 rad is quite a lot, so this might cause problems. Try 4*pi/3 as phase.

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 19
(7,647 Views)